As students reach Year six and beyond, it is time to move into the middle wing within Polden Bower School to Hillside. 

There are six classes within Hillside which include:

  • Blackdown
  • Porlock
  • Mendip
  • Quantock
  • Blagdon
  • Knoll & Tor (2 small classes create one)

Students in Hillside follow a broad and balanced curriculum based on National Curriculum subjects. Core learning in English and Maths are taught daily with a broad range of knowledge and skills through a topic approach to learning. 

Hillside Curriculum Overview 

Students continue to enjoy the outdoor learning opportunities at Polden Bower with access to a forest school area with outdoor classroom, storyteller circle for story and drama and inclusive swing area. 

There are STEM rooms for group Computing, Food technology, Science and Design and Technology which enriches and enhances the curriculum offer.